Tyler Texas Online Smith County Texas government

Smith County Texas Government

For more information, visit the
official website of Smith County

The County was established in 1846 by the new Texas State Legislature and was named for General James Smith who fought for Texas' independence and served during the Indian Wars. Boundaries were established at that time and have never been changed.

The Smith County Commissioners Court consists of a County Judge elected by the voters of Smith County, and four Commissioners elected by their respective precincts. The county seat is Tyler.

Smith County stretches over 932 square miles, has 1,273 miles of county roads, 18 taxing entities, and includes these cities:

  • Arp
  • Bullard
  • Hideaway
  • Lindale
  • Noonday
  • Overton
  • Troup
  • Tyler
  • Whitehouse
  • Winona
Smith County Texas sign
Sign at entrance to Smith County (TylerTexasOnline staff photo)

Smith County government is composed of 48 departments, including 26 elected officials and 16 department heads. Smith County has approximately 900 employees.

County services and responsibilities include:

  • Building and maintaining county roads
  • Operating the judicial system
  • Registering voters and holding elections
  • Maintaining public records
  • Participation in economic development incentive and programs
  • Providing health and social services to the indigent
  • Assisting Veterans and their dependents w/ benefit/entitlement claims
  • Providing law enforcement
  • Building and operating jails
  • Issuing vehicle registrations
  • Collection of property and sales taxes

For additional information about Smith County, we recommend these websites:

Smith County - Official Website
Smith County Commissioners Court
Smith County Sheriff
Smith County Elections & Voter Info
Smith County Emergency Services District
Smith County Jury Duty
Smith County Vehicle Registration
Smith County Clerk
Smith County Road and Bridge
Smith County Subdivision Regulations

Smith County Property Taxes
Smith County Appraisal District (SCAD)

Map of Smith County in Texas
Map of Cities, Towns and Counties Near Tyler Texas and Smith County

The Smith County Courthouses

The first Smith County Courthouse was a log cabin on West Erwin Street in 1846. A year later, a new courthouse was constructed of logs on East Ferguson. In 1848, a 520-square-foot log courthouse was built on the square.

Two more courthouses would follow, plus a new one authorized by county voters in 2022:

In 1910, Smith County officials held a dedication for the domed courthouse in the center of the square. It was used for 45 years before it was demolished and replaced with the current courthouse in 1955. The 1910 Smith County Courthouse in Texas
The current Smith County Courthouse was dedicated in 1955. The six-story facility was constructed to house two district courts, two justice of the peace courts, the jail and various county offices. The 1955 Smith County Courthouse in Texas

The $179 million Smith County Courthouse Bond proposal was passed by county voters on November 8, 2022.

The new courthouse will be built on the east side of the square, between the courthouse annex and the Smith County Jail.

Read more about the planning for the new courthouse at the website of Smith County

The new, planned Smith County Courthouse in Texas

Copyright © 2023 TylerTexasOnline.com All Rights Reserved.
This website is operated by a private entity with no connection to or affiliation with the City of Tyler, Smith County, TXDOT, NETRMA, or other governmental agency